Lovin’ The Skin I’m In

It took me a long time to love the skin I am in! I don’t need to cite horrid details of world history, this is personal. While several industries such as the beauty, movie and advertising make millions telling women why they are inadequate and this next wonder product will make them better; my issue went deeper. I felt unworthy and undeserving. It has taken years to overcome these negative feelings and discontinue the negative self talk. The negative thoughts are a work in progress, which is progressing.

I am imperfect. Permanently and inevitably flawed. I am beautiful – Anonymous

We all have to play the hand we are dealt and our bodies are what they are. They may be scarred, or bruised or not but they are our bodies. My skin is a healthy serving of chocolate and I wouldn’t want it any other way!!! There is history in my skin, there are stories and legends passed down to me through my skin. Stories of pain, and triumph. My skin ushers me into an awesome, awe inspiring community of human beings who know pain like no other, who are the epitome of resilience and the indomitable spirit.

 

16840535387_e79c69000f_o
I hold my head high and wear an easy smile.

My heart sings with pride when I see us excelling on the track, in the pool, in the studio, on the stage, in concert,in the theater, in the hospital, in the white house, in the court house, in the classroom, in the lecture hall, in the magazine, on the television, on the radio, at the Emmy’s, at the Oscar’s!

We are inventors, creators, we are….

I am a black woman, who is proud to be black. Born on an Island that is known for its tenacious people. I hold my head high and wear an easy smile. This is my skin and I’m lovin’ this velvet glove I’m in!!

Until next time remember – “You can be the lead in your own life.” – Kerry Washington

 

 

Photo credit: Leroy Armstead - Chaseedaw

 

Leave a comment